<< okay, well, maybe not so much for my body . . . >>
2002-10-10 - 8:34 a.m.

Want to hear something ridiculous? This morning I was determined to catch the bus. So I drive down to my stop, which is connected with a park n' ride, easily identify my bus route, and then--I can't find the park n' ride. The only parking lot in sight is the one next to the Hop N' Go (aside: when exactly did we, as a culture, decide that it was way too much trouble to continue to spell out the word "and"?), but they have signs all over the place saying that they will gladly tow me if I park there for longer than about 5 seconds. So then I kind of drive around the area for a few minutes, but driving around the 520/Montlake area at rush hour is no piece of cake. Those of you who live outside the area will have to take my word for it--every 5 minutes the traffic lady comes on the radio to talk about how everyone should, for the love of God, avoid this very spot.

Eventually I gave up in despair and drove out onto the 520 in my single occupancy vehicle---just as the bus I wanted to be on whizzed passed me in the HOV lane. Maybe I really am that stupid.

I went to Elliot Bay Book Co. to see Irving Welsh read from his new book last night, but we got there kind of late, and what with the crowd and the accent, we could only hear about every third or fourth "fuck." So we gave up and wandered around the store itself--it's the very last word in bookstores, I tell you. Paradise. Adam will like it.

And now here I am again at my deeply fulfilling job, at which I am respected for my mind as well as my lithe, fit, is-that-Christy-Turlington-coming-towards-us? body. Ahem. The sun is out, though, if only for a little while, and there was an amazing sunrise this morning. The phones are nice and quiet, too.

I tend to get excited about the small things. I may never be cool, but I bet I'm a lot happier and more pleasant to be around than most of the cool people you know.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31