<< everyone loves the bugs >>
2005-03-25 - 2:55 p.m.

You know diary, it's not that I don't care. I think about you all the time, I do. I just never seem to have the chance to fill you in these days. Also it seems that your pictures are no longer active, which I guess means Andrew wants money? I'm not sure I even care anymore. It's clear your layout could use some help, but I haven't gotten around that either.

But I do think about you. Like the other day I was shopping for a suit and I was hating it. All of the suites made me look like either my grandmother or else a five-year-old in her grandmother's suit, and I also hated every single store employee and every single other shopper, individually and enthusiastically.

There were other amusing anecdotes related to how much I hated shopping for a suit that I was going to share with you, diary, but they don't seem very important at this point. I ended up with a boring gray suit that fit nicely in the store and then somehow grew two sizes overnight in my closet, so that I still showed up for the interview looking like a five-year-old in grandma's suit.

**
**

But to back up a little bit, I think when last we spoke, I was just about to do the story time? The storytime was awesome--I had a big turnout (34 people, mainly preschoolers, in a room the size of a generous walk-in closet), and I think a good time was had by all. We did bugs. Bug stories, bug songs, bug everything. Everyone loves the bugs.

Then last weekend we (not me and the preschoolers--that would be weird) went to Vancouver. It rained like gangbusters the whole time but we had a lot of fun anyway. We bought things like fancy cheese made from unpasteurized milk (illegal in this backward land) and bath bombs from Lush, ate a lot of good food for practically free (at one place we ate about seven metric tons of dim sum and the bill--20% tip included--came to only $7.25 American) and generally just soaked up the Canadiana. Do Canadians refer to Canadiana in the same way that Americans refer to Americana? Perhaps they are too cool for this.

Nope--I just did a Google search. It seems they are not too cool.

**
**

So then yesterday I had my qualifying interview for SPL (to get into the hiring pool, you remember), and it went really well. Mainly it went really well because I seriously overprepared, and I seriously overprepared because I am a freak. My manager from Capitol Hill called me today and said he'd heard it was great, they were impressed, whatevah. Then he said that he wanted to create a special job just for me, a temporary part-time librarian job, for which I'd make pretty much the same money as a real live librarian, and be poised to slide into full-timeness upon graduation.

There are plenty of people already in the hiring pool who would love to take this job (and who have their degrees already), so the fact that Manager Man would ask me first, which involves going to extra trouble and getting special permission, etc., is pretty fantastic. The way my schedule stands right now there's really no way I can do it, but I'm hoping the iSchool will let me count it as an independent study or something.

The iSchool generally does everything it can to hamper you from getting a job but this time I'm taking a stand.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31