<< something green >>
2005-07-06 - 9:29 a.m.

Last weekend we stayed in a glorious cabin (seriously, I felt a little bit Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous) near Mt. Hood with The Robotos, their equally fantastic neighbors (soon to be our neighbors as well), and two incredibly energetic dogs. There were a couple of moments during the weekend--for instance, when I was sitting with smart, funny people in an enormous hot tub, drinking a glass of wine and relaxing after a day hike that went past glaciers (that's right, past glaciers)--that made me wonder what my ten year old self would say if she could see now. I think her mind would be a little bit blown.

Then we came back here. Unemployment does have its perks--the hours are excellent, for instance--but the pay is pretty bad, and running out of money is becoming an all-consuming fear.

I'm not eligible for unemployment benefits because I was a student while I was working the last two years. That's right--the government does not want you to go to school. Just as an aside, my friend Winn, who has worked for a hedge fund in New York for the last half decade making about 7 trillion dollars annually, got laid off recently because the guy running the hedge fund wanted to spend a year in the south of France. Winn got a boatload of money from unemployment, and took about six months off to travel. Who exactly is unemployment insurance for?

Anyway. We bought paint for our new house, and my project for the day is to apply the paint to the walls in order to liberate them from their current condition of Suicide Beige to a series of cheerful and hopefully non-tacky colors. I'm pretty excited about it--I have this month's book club selection on tape to keep me company, and at least I'll feel like I've gotten something done at the end of the day. Something green!

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31