<< they pick me up when I'm feelin' blue >>
2004-01-12 - 12:28 p.m.

The other day I was running in Volunteer Park when a nicely-dressed, middle-aged white man stepped out from behind a big bush. I thought it was a little bit weird that he was taking a mid-afternoon stroll in his office clothes, but didn�t think anything more about it until a few moments later, when a young black man stepped out from behind the same bush, all casual-like, and walked off in the opposite direction.

**

**

Now I'm going to do a boring list of things I did this weekend, because I spent hours trying to remember what I did last weekend and I still can't. If I want to remember anything, it seems, I have to write it down.

This weekend I began a serious project, in cooperation with some other people, to do New and Exciting Things in Seattle. On Friday night I was surprised with tickets to The World�s Quickest Theater Festival at Consolidated Works, which was great�seven short plays, all conceived, written, memorized, and acted within 24 hours. Plus, you can take your drink into the theater. I haven�t explored the arts scene in Seattle very much, which sort of shames me; I�m determined to do better.

Saturday we overtook Leilani Lanes in Greenwood, which has both karaoke AND bowling�multiple ways to humiliate yourself, all under one roof! Good times. We had a strong Southern contingent, so there was a lot of hot David Allen Coe/Skynard action.

Sunday: breakfast at Val�s on Phinney Ridge, a small diner where the (Russian? Latvian?) waitress offered this advice: �Hard work is good for you. People no work, they get cranky and shoot each other. Work is good.�

Then, since the sun was kind of/sort of out, we took a walk and went to the Conservatory in Volunteer Park to visit the plants (but did not flush any more illicit activities out from behind the foliage).

**

**

I finished the 5th season of Buffy on dvd. Buffy is dead and I�m not okay with it, but I have to wait until the 6th season comes out on dvd to bring her back to life. I�m going to go back to watching Sex and the City now, because it makes me feel young and also not as frivolous as I could be. Buffy makes me feel like I really should be slaying demons�or brushing up on my kickboxing skills, at the very least.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31