<< beautiful gorgeous wish you were here >>
2004-08-07 - 12:36 p.m.

I am writing to you today from the Cyber Cafe in Twisp, WA, where the Saturday farmer's market is already shutting down (Twisp don't tolerate no lazies). Twisp is not the middle of nowhere, but it's right on the edge. The town itself is actually a dead ringer for the town in Northern Exposure, and the people are a lot like that, too--friendly but completely uncurious about strangers.

I'm here on a "date" to a wedding with a friend of mine (James) from college, who I hadn't seen again since graduation. Our other friend (Henry) is the best man. Right now they are both off somewhere doing manly groomsmen things for the wedding, like setting up chairs and flirting with grandmothers, so I have been free to roam Twisp at will.

I had a falling out with these guys towards the end of our senior year. I honestly don't remember exactly why--my memory is pretty bad in general, and it selectively edits out almost all unpleasantness. I'm sure I was mostly to blame. It had something to do with the fact that Henry and I drunkenly kissed one time at my 21st birthday party, but that's about all I've got. (They remember what happened, but they politely decline to tell me. I do not press the issue.)

It's nice to see people again after six years and have them be the same, but better.

**

**

A lot has been going on, but I've been too busy and unconnected to let you know about it. Highlights include:

1. New apartment.

It's all set up, and I love it. Small, but so cute. You should come over. One at a time.

2. I designed and ran the information literacy classes in jail this past week.

They went pretty well. I was supposed to teach them how to read maps, so I based a couple of the questions around my hometown, pointing out that it was the peanut capitol of the world. One kid said, "Oh yeah? My hometown is the crank capitol of the world."

3. I think I'm dating, as seen on tv.

Which is pretty much an unpredecented experience for me. Not exactly Carrie Bradshaw, you know, but still. I think some people are concerned that I'm not so good at it, but I am having a nice time.

There's more, but I just realized this computer is about eleven dollars a minute. Have a lovely weekend and I'll see you next week.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31