<< fumbling with the baton >>
2005-02-11 - 1:36 p.m.

Oh man, Mmme. Roboto passed me a baton. Unfortunately, most of the questions on this quiz don't really apply to me because I am the lowest-tech person in the universe, at least in my home life. No fancy MP3 player for me, and my computer is so old that I finally quite using it. But not to worry--as soon as I break through that $14,000/year salary ceiling, I am going to be the best little consumer you could ever hope to meet.

In terms of this quiz thingy, I will do the best I can.

I: Ten Random Songs
Instructions: Put your MP3 player on "shuffle" and list the first ten songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.

So, yeah. No MP3 player. I could list ten songs I own on CD, but I think we all know I'd stay away from the most embarrassing selections.

Question and Answer Section

Read question. Answer question.


What is the total amount of music files on your computer?

I think (before I put it in the closet) there were maybe 20 or so.

The last CD you bought is:

I haven't really been allowing myself to buy cds for a while, so I'm not sure. I don't think The Arcade Fire (purchased last September!) was the last one I bought, but I wouldn't bet the farm on it. The last cd I borrowed (a much more common practice for me these days) was Mrs. Roboto's Blue Scholars album.

What is the song you last listened to before beginning this meme?

The song I've had in my head for days is the one from that annoying Banana Republic commercial they always play during Project Runway--". . . and I wonder to myself/wonder to myself/are you beautiful?/on the inside?"

I really hate it more than I can explain, but it's seeped down deep into my brain and I fear I'll never be free of it.

In terms of a song I listened to on purpose? Maybe "Take Me With You" by Prince.

III: Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.

Oh dear, a hard one.

1. "Wind Beneath My Wings," by Bette Midler.

That's Richard's and my song. We like to say that sometimes he's the wind, sometimes I'm the wind, but all that really matters is that someone is always flying.

For serious though, I think it might be fun to do this in chronological order, with one song per time period. These aren't necessarily my favorite songs from each period, just songs that remind me of that time.

I could probably think of better ones, but my cd collection is at home. With the computer, in the closet.

1. High school--"Take Me Out Tonight," the Smiths.
2. College--"Nothing but Flowers," the Talking Heads.
3. Graduate school (English)--"Set Out Running," Neko Case
4. New Orleans--"In The Aeroplane Over the Sea," Neutral Milk Hotel. (Myra-Lee picked it too so you know it's good.)
5. Graduate school (library)--"Taking It All The Way," U.S.E.

IV: Pass this stick to three persons and explain why.

I pass to Monkey (if she still even reads the dland--this is a test), to Itzie (same reason), and to Kayemess, because she makes the most attractive apple/pear/cracker cheese plate you have ever seen.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31